When Dali just doesn’t cut it anymore…

by Andrew Lovesey

Surrealism has always been an obsession of mine. Kindled first by the wondrous works of Salvador Dalí during my teenage years, I became profoundly inspired by surrealist works. They speak to imagination, mutating reality and morphing perceptions. I have collected an array of surreal photographs below for your enjoyment. May they inspire you when even the foggiest of doubt may haze your mind.

 

Perhaps it is the transgression of normality that draws me to surrealism. It is metamorphosis of the mind. Ideas flowing into one another providing a result that is both stimulating and confusing at the same time.

My first venture into surrealist literature began with a Canadian author, Yann Martel, who wrote the Life of Pi. It is no wonder as to why this novel won much praise (and the Booker Prize). Martel wrote a fascinating account of a boy stranded on a boat in the Pacific Ocean following a shipwreck with a hyena, wounded zebra, orangutan and a bengal tiger. It truly tingles your mind as you unravel the twists and turns that mould into the plot seamlessly.

Surrealism is the materialisation of imagination.

It has no bounds.

No restraints.

 

 

I apologise for not crediting any photographers whose stills I may have used, feel free to contact me with your specs (and proof of ownership) and I will gladly link to your site.